How to improve Silverlight-WP Tilerenderer

Jan 8, 2012 at 10:57 AM

Hi,

first of all thanks for this great project, it's really powerful. I would like to use it in a app for Windows Phone 7. I have already tried the WP Sample with OsmTileSource. It's working pretty well but (at least in the emualtor) the performance is not the best. For example when panning the map around it's not very smooth even if all tiles should be already in cache. I feel like there is much more potential for this great control! The bing maps control for example performs much better.

Don't get me wrong, I don't want to criticize anything. I'm pretty good in Windows Mobile / Windows Forms but unfortunately I'm a beginner in Silverlight / WP7.

Does anybody have some hints on how to improve cutom map control tile rendering in WP7? I already searched the web for something like best practices in WP7 custom control rendering with images but didn't find anything useful so far. Are there any better solutions than using a canvas / Rectangles as it is now or is do we have to go for XNA to achive better performance?

Regards and thanks again for this great project!

By the way, I haven't tried vector rendering yet. Does it work in a useful way on WP7?

Jan 15, 2012 at 7:18 PM

Hi there,

I currently don't have a Windows Phone to develop for, so I can not test the performance. I would expect that a single tile layer would be fast, maybe this could be fixed.

I would expect a simple tile layer to be fast on WP7. Perhaps the number of tiles in memory is too big for WP7.